Try New Things

Try New Things

Introduction

Today, I am going to share my own experiences and talk a bit about trying out new things.

Why?

Because I am also trying a new thing by writing something other than tech for once. ✌️

Always trying new things is always more fun, and it can be scary, but it's always more fun in the end.

Reasons

Recently I came across an anime where the main protagonist is head over heels about making Hina dolls (What are Hina dolls), he was mesmerized by them and would spend literally years dedicating himself to the craft of making them. One day by he met someone who would encourage him to try something new.

Then again, slowly he started to have much more experience, made new friends, and understood more about himself. Did he power up exponentially and started making the world's best Hina dolls? No. Did he unlock some supernatural power to talk with Hina dolls? No. Then what changed? He is still a normal boy obsessed over Hina dolls perfecting his craft.

What changed, his perspective.

Life is beautiful

Point of the story? I don't know, you figure it out. I encourage you to think on your own and come up with what you make out of it.

I will tell you my interpretation of it, and why am I inspired to try new things.

  • Meet new people

Trying new things, opens you up to new people, and new experiences. Chances are whatever you want to try in life someone else wants to do the same or had tried or done the same.

You will meet such people, get to know them, and maybe read about them but whatever the way, you will experience something new.

  • Learn about yourself

I strongly believe that we are what we think we are.

Our beliefs are shaped by a lot of factors, the environment, the people we interact with, the upbringing we had, and even beliefs passed down by generations. Still each one of us is unique in our own way.

Our protagonist from the story is naturally curious even the most bizarre things to other people, which gives him hope, and makes him feel inspired. Is he wrong or weird? Not at all, he is just himself!

You will find out about what are you truly passionate about, and what matters to you.

In today's society it might feel like, having money, a formal degree, lavish home is the only path. But the question is, is this the path that you truly what? That my friend, you will have to answer for yourself.✨

  • Exposes you to new ideas

People always talk about stepping out of their comfort zone and immediately this picture comes to mind. This makes it seem like the comfort zone is a rigid place and you have to physically move out of it.

cc.png

Every idea, learning, fact as you know it, was once New ideas, new learnings, new finding. Have you seen a baby, staring with wide eyes full of curiosity at anything and everything? You were once that baby.

It is not about stepping out of the comfort zone or breaking the barriers, it is about growing your comfort zone and encompassing everything life throws at you.

jjj.png

  • Breaks up the routine of life

Routine in life is what allows us to stay disciplined but once in a while, it is important to break it and try other things too. If it is not working out, you always have a routine you can go back to.

  • Increases your overall satisfaction

Trying out new things gives you the added satisfaction of saying, Yes! I have tried that! whenever someone shares their experiences or asks if you know about it.

Being open and receptive to new opportunities also gives you a chance of saying, No, I haven't tried that, Let's Go!. Trust me you will be surprised what all life has to offer if you are willing to accept it.

  • Alleviates boredom
  • Grow as a person

You become accepting of new ideas, new people, and new cultures, and slowly you will feel from within that I am growing. The comfort zone is expanding and people are naturally inclined towards you, new experiences come to you as you are receptive and willing to accept them.

  • Become a more interesting person

Suddenly you have a lot to talk about, then the breadth of topics in your life is expanding as well as the depth of each topic is substantial since it is your own experience, what better way to know about something than to experience it first hand.

  • Discover things you like and don’t like

A child is not aware of the good and bad in this world, slowly through their interactions they understand and associate good or bad with objects/things/emotions.

It is only through an experience you truly know what is good for you or bad for you, if you don't know something even exists in this world, it is neither good nor bad.

  • Expand your perspective on life

It is all about perspective in life.

  • Boosts your overall confidence level

  • Get to Experience more of what life has to offer

Ways

Books

Books are the best way to learn. It is literally a way to live a lifetime's worth of experience just by going through the work of an author. It helps your creativity and learning.

If you want to know about the world, read. If you want to know about yourself, write.

People

You can approach people directly, and interact with them. You can interact with them through their socials or AMA if they conduct any. Reach out to them, and list your questions. Most people are helpful and happy to share their knowledge.

People are walking libraries of their experiences and knowledge, this is how I imagine each and everyone I meet.

jkldfa.png

Join Community

You can join physical communities or online communities to meet and interact with like-minded people, added benefits of joining a community are - to keep the community alive and active, community managers or the people in general conduct many events with amazing swags, prizes, and much more. You get to participate in what you love and even win prizes and recognition for it how cool is that!

Join forums

Forums are a great place to start, you can from the comfort of your home get started by interacting with like-minded people.

Showcase your talent in public

This one is a personal favorite of mine, showcase what you are working on, what you are interested in, and what you encourage.

You will be surprised by the number of people who are interested in the same stuff as you are!

Conclusion

I would like to conclude by using dialogue between Hitagami, man-god, and Rudeus Greyrat from Mushoku Tensei. It has a spoiler so if you want you can skip it. If you want to read it for yourself..

While restlessly stomping on the ground with his foot, he raised his voice with irritation in it.

“How are you SO RELAXED!?”

“That’s because.......I’m already dead.”

As I answered with a pause, Hitogami became speechless.

I closed my eyes.

I started thinking about things up until now.

I was able to do what I wanted in this world.

I married and had lots of friends.

I had lots of children and grandchildren as well.

I tried my best at work.

Indeed, I was anxious about the things

Hitogami would be doing from now on, and I also had the thought that I could’ve done something more.

But for some reason...

I had no regrets or curiosity left.

No, it should be better to say that there was nothing left to regret.

Sure, I’m worried and anxious, but the thought of ‘what to do’ doesn’t come to mind.

After listening to Hitogami now, I didn’t feel like I should somehow revive myself and go protect my children.

The children or the grandchildren would probably be able to do something about it somehow.

I slowly headed towards Hitogami.

Hitogami had a surprisingly small stature.

Since I never approached him more than necessary, I could never estimate his height.

“I’m satisfied already.”

I’d lived my life plenty.

I didn’t think that everything was perfect. Maybe there were still some things left that needed to be done.

It’s not like when I closed my eyes, only good memories came to my mind.

Memories of failures, memories of success, there were both.

However, I didn’t think that I needed to redo it.

I died.

My work was now over with this.

I should just entrust the consequences to the people that were still alive.

Even though the person in front of me was saying that he would harm the ones that were still alive, it was rather strange.

But it couldn’t be helped.

Strangely enough, my mind was calm.

Way forward

When I started my journey as a software engineer, I had only one aim - "To make more money". For that, knew only a single path - "To get into FAANGM". As I am meeting new people, and having new experiences I realized, that there are multiple paths, each again having multiple options.

I urge you to explore and realize your own path. I wish you all the best.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Eshan Sharma by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!